The First Pitch of Opening Day

by

 

Yesterday was opening day out at the Ranger’s ballpark and I threw out the first pitch.  I had gotten some advice from Troy Aikman about throwing off the rubber because Troy really didn’t throw well the year he did it. Throwing from the rubber means you are actually throwing down.  When I threw out the first pitch in San Diego I threw it low then like Troy did.  If I am throwing straight, I’m ok, but I’m not used to being up high. To make sure I got the pitch right, I went out last week out to throw a few in my backyard.  My basketball court is about the same distance – 60 feet 6 inches – so I was using that to get the feel of it. 

Anyway, Opening Day was great and I had a good throw.  However, I did hear that last night on the news Dale Hansen said I did well – but followed the compliment with “and Roger’s about 88 years old”.  He was off by about 20 years but at least I got a good review.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

