The value of teamwork

by

Preseason is in full swing, and I’m thinking back to when I was out at Valley Ranch earlier this summer to do an interview.  Wade Phillips called me over to speak to the team after practice and I was a little shocked.  A bunch of young guys were listening to an old guy on the practice field in 100 degree weather, and I was kind of on the spot for what to tell them.  I felt like the atmosphere reminded me of our 1971 team, so I told them a story about the importance of teamwork; it’s one of the same ones I tell our employees at Jones Lang LaSalle.  We had a great team and had the right things at the beginning of the year, but we got off to a slow start and weren’t really playing together like we should.  Right in the middle of the year we figured it out and started putting our personal agendas secondary to the big agenda and won 10 games in a row…and won the Super Bowl.  I had a few seconds to try and get that message to the players.  It’s important to have the right people in the right places pulling together to make miracles happen.  Then, I walked down the field and started throwing some footballs with Miles Austin.  I had a good time.  I’m really pulling for the Cowboys this year.  Later, I told Marianne that when I was talking with the team I was sure no one was listening.  That night I saw it on the news, and a couple of guys said they listened to Mr. Staubach talk about how we have to pull it together and that’s what we have to do.  And I said, Holy Cow they actually listened.  It’s the beginning of a fun time again.  Everybody is getting ready for the upcoming season, and we want to follow the season in our blog.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

